Meet the Team: Allison McDonough – Press and Media Manager

By day, Allison McDonough is the Assistant to the Managing Director at the Huntington Theatre Company, but by night, she does Public Relations and Marketing for a few of Boston’s smaller theatre companies and is the Managing Director of Vagabond Theatre Group. She has previously held marketing/public relations positions with Company One (Boston), Boston Ballet (Boston), Camden People’s Theatre (London) and Ardea Arts/Family Opera Initiative (New York City). Allison is interested in choreography, scenic painting/construction and costume design/production. She received an Honorable Mention for Movement Direction of Boston University School of Theatre’s production of diventare at KCACTF. Allison holds a B.S. in Communications with a focus on Public Relations. She grew up in Warren, New Jersey and currently resides in Boston.

* * *

What was the first piece of technology you remember using? What was your favorite (or least favorite) thing about it?
I don’t know if it is the first piece of technology I remember using, but I recall having a series of codes that I would use with my mother’s pager so that she could pick me up from middle school: “111111” meant “rehearsal is over – pick me up” “222222” meant “I’m getting a ride with a friend. It was a great time saver because she didn’t have to call me back!

What piece of obsolete technology do you still use? Why?
I still use disposable cameras! I am particularly fond of the ones that are waterproof – though it usually takes me a few years to actually fill up a disposable camera with photos (because when you only have a limited number of shots, they seem so precious that you don’t use them as liberally as you do when you’re shooting digital), so when I get a camera developed, it’s wonderfully nostalgic to see photos that you took three years ago!

What is your favorite social network and why?
My favorite “social network” was the social feature on Google Reader, but sadly it is no more. There was a small group of my friends that used it, so following others always led to a nicely cultivated list of blog posts, rather than the hodgepodge that you see on Facebook. However, with Google Reader gone, I suppose Facebook is my main network now-a-days!

What has been your most moving experience with technology? Were you overwhelmed, touched, in awe?
An old friend of mine (with whom I hadn’t spoken in years) recently developed cancer. He created a campaign at GiveForward.com and raised over $20K for his surgery. I gave to the campaign, but after I donated, I clicked through the other donors and noticed a lot of them were also my friends/acquaintances from High School, and many of them left notes that they, too, hadn’t spoken to this friend in years, but that they still cared about him and wanted him to have a successful surgery. It was wonderfully overwhelming to have it come out through technology how often people think about friends and how deeply they still care about others years later, even if they don’t express it.

If you could add one new button to Facebook, what would it be?
It would probably be some kind of grammar corrector button. It may be embarrassing to admit this, but I shout at the TV when I hear bad grammar. I know that yelling at a screen won’t change anything, but I can pretend, right?

* * *

Click Here to Hear Allison’s Mixed Tape, “Claps and Snaps,” on Spotify
Allison Mix TapeRescue Song – Mr. Little Jeans
Royals – Lorde
One More Crash – Faded Paper Figures
Settle Down – Kimbra
Naked Kids – Grouplove
Bonus track: Always Gold – Radical Face

Leave a Reply

