Meet the Cast: Adam Thenhaus

IMG_1900Adam Thenhaus is elated to be doing HMICY with this fantastic cast & crew. Originally from St. Louis, Adam graduated from Saint Louis University with a B.A. in Theatre. Adam has worked with many companies in St. Louis such as St. Louis Shakespeare, Stray Dog Theatre and Insight Theatre. College: My Fair Lady (Col. Pickering), Picasso at the Lapin Agile (Gaston). Community: The Lion in Winter (Richard), Beauty and the Beast (Cogsworth), Lady in the Dark (Charley Johnson). Professional: Death of a Salesman (Howard Wagner), A Tale of Two Cities (C.J. Stryver), Lord of the Rings Trilogy LIVE! (Samwise Gamgee), Something’s Afoot (Clive), Distracted (Dr. Jinks, et al).

* * *

What was the first piece of technology you remember using? What was your favorite (or least favorite) thing about it?
The first tech I ever remember using is my older brothers’ Atari 2600. I played PacMan, Pong, Pitfall, the classics. I loved everything about it because A) It was a video game system which was awesome, of course, and B) It belonged to my older brothers, and as we all know everything that belongs to someone a bit older than you is cooler than anything in the world.

What piece of obsolete technology do you still use? Why?
I use 2. Whenever I get a chance to go home to St. Louis, I watch movies on my grandma’s old laser disc player. Over half of the movies she owned were children’s movies, but my family will always pop them in just for nostalgia’s sake. The other item I use is a fax machine. With my job I have to fax forms and various documents to many people who prefer it that way.

What is your favorite social network and why?
My favorite social network is Twitter. Initially I joined to receive a newsfeed from the famous/interesting people and publications I followed, but then it exploded. It’s like 6 degrees of separation where you think, “Oh you like that person too? Then I like you!” so then I follow them and it goes on. I have connected with so many people who interest me, and people who think I’m interesting, and let’s face it, that’s anybody…*crickets*…

What has been your most moving experience with technology? Were you overwhelmed, touched, in awe?
It’s funny how I was completely FLOORED when the iPhone was released. A friend had the first gen and I wanted to buy it off of him very badly. Finally the iPhone 3G was released and he handed over his old one. I could not get enough. It was the most sleek and splendid thing I ever poked and swiped. I have a 4S now, but I still have that old Edge-network, first gen model in all of it’s crashed glory.

If you could add one new button to Facebook, what would it be?
I think I would add a sympathy button. “Liking” or giving a “thumbs up” to someone’s status saying they just broke their leg doesn’t quite express it correctly. I guess you could also add a “D’oh!” button in that case.

If you were to create a 5-song mixed tape to share with the world via the Internet, what would be on it? What would you title it?
My Mixed Tape Would Be Titled: GET IT IN YOUR BONES or SONGS I KNOW THE DANCES TO or HOW MY TEENAGE SELF IMPRESSED GIRLS INSTEAD OF LEARNING GUITAR (Click here to listen!):
Adam Thenhaus1) N’Sync – BYE, BYE, BYE
2) The Backstreet Boys – EVERYBODY (BACKSTREET’S BACK)
3) Michael Jackson – SMOOTH CRIMINAL
4) N’Sync – POP
5) Psy – GANGNAM STYLE (okay this is more recent, I’ll admit it. I can’t lie.)

Leave a Reply

