Meet the Cast: Anita Shriver

IMG_2429Anita is #amped 2 b part of @Project:Project’s latest…#project. #theatre. She wants to live in a world where jokes are pithy, guacamole is homemade, and drinks are strong with extra cherries. As a designer, she’s studied under Julia Noulin-Merat and has worked in Pittsburgh, NYC, Boston, and London. Her favorite bits have been Carmen (MetroWest Opera), Giver of Light and Bovinus Rex (Guerrilla Opera), and the Haunted Experiences at the Bronx Zoo and Coney Island Aquarium, to which she will return this fall. She is head of design for Opera Brittenica in Boston. When she’s not designing, you can find her attempting to run a mile, trying new things on new menus, and writing postcards. Her next project is The Rape of Lucretia with Opera Brittenica opening October 18th in Boston, and October 28th in NYC.

Learn more about Anita:
http://www.behance.net/anitashriver
t: @AwkKegelSilence
i: anitathecheetah
f + p: anita shriver

* * *

What was the first piece of technology you remember using? What was your favorite (or least favorite) thing about it?
The garage door opener. I loved it because I could fuck with my parents.

What piece of obsolete technology do you still use? Why?
I still use a record player so I can feel superior to others. But I know almost nothing about music, so I end up being not so superior.

What is your favorite social network and why?
I recently fell madly in love with Instagram. Seeing other people’s lives through rose colored glasses is such a beautiful escape from everyday life. But it also makes me look at my everyday life to find the beauty.

What has been your most moving experience with technology? Were you overwhelmed, touched, in awe?
I think, like a lot of people, my most moving experience was the day of the marathon bombings and subsequently the day they caught the perpetrators. It seemed so natural for Facebook to become a lifeline, which is weirdly life affirming. For a few days, it wasn’t the place to cyber stalk or bitch or brag, it was genuine connection, and that was comforting.

If you could add one new button to Facebook, what would it be?
I wish there was a fact check button. As much as I appreciate that Facebook can be a political and social watchdog, I still want people to be well informed. Don’t post your aunt’s letter to the editor about Syria and expect me to also be up in arms about it. A little bit of research and open-minded mess goes a LONG way.

If you were to create a 5-song mixed tape to share with the world via the Internet, what would be on it?
Oof…well if you refer back to an earlier question, I admit that I know very little about music and what’s cool, so my mix tape would have to be for someone who already unconditionally loves me and won’t share their honest opinions about my lame taste.

I would title my mix tape ‘mixxxx tizzape’ (re: lame)
1. Cee Lo Green’s ‘Fuck You’
2. Birdy’s cover of ‘Skinny Love’
3. Sir Mix a Lot’s ‘Jump On It’ (I would obviously rap over the lyrics since I know them all)
4. Billy Joel’s ‘We didn’t start the fire’ (again, I’d sing all the words over it)
5. Justin Timberlake’s ‘Suit & Tie’.
Most likely whoever I gave that tape to would be confused and consequently stop asking for mix tapes.

Click here to listen to Anita’s “Mixxxx Tizzape” (without the dubbing over tracks tracks 3 and 4, of course)!

Leave a Reply

