Meet the Cast: Mikey DiLoreto

mikey_newMikey DiLoreto is elated to be making his Project: Project debut. Recent credits include: Provoloney in Psycho Beach Party, Harold Gorringe in Black Comedy, Van in the Elliot Norton Award winning Dog Sees God: Confessions of a Teenage Blockhead and D in the IRNE-nominated/My Entertainment World-winning Polaroid Stories. Upcoming acting gigs include: Mickey Marcus in Zeitgeist Stage’s The Normal Heart (November) and Cupid in Happy Medium’s The Eight: Reindeer Monologues (December). Many thanks to the fantastic team of tireless writers, this awesome cast and crew, my ladies who lunch, the Mediums, the Daggers, the beasts, the Eastie gals, and Monsieur Jeff Mosser. He’s a proud founding of Happy Medium Theatre (HMT). #bragging #sorrynotsorry.

* * *

Name:
Mikey DiLoreto

Position:
Actor, or Reverse Cowgirl

What was the first piece of technology you remember using? What was your favorite (or least favorite) thing about it?
A Speak and Spell. My favorite thing about it was the voice. So deliciously creepy and robotic.

What piece of obsolete technology do you still use? Why?
There are times during the Christmas holiday that I sneak downstairs to my cellar and do my best to set up my old Sega Genesis. Yup. There’s a huge “L” on my forehead.

What is your favorite social network and why?
Is Instagram a social network? If so, I love it. I can look like Ansel Adams and not even really try!

What has been your most moving experience with technology? Were you overwhelmed, touched, in awe?
I don’t know if it was necessarily moving, but I remember every movement of mine when 9/11 happened. I was in my Intro to Theatre Arts, and a Dean came in and said, “Evacuate now.” All these people were pulling out cell phones to call loved ones, but not one was getting through. And at the time I was one of 16 people in the world without a cell phone. So, I went over my best friend’s (Molly Kimmerling) house and called my Mom from *gasp* a land-line. I found a way to communicate via a means that was being phased out, and I found that a tad awe-inspiring/overwhelming.

If you could add one new button to Facebook, what would it be?
I’d add a “Stop posting on Facebook and answer my f*cking email” button.

If you were to create a 5-song mixed tape to share with the world via the Internet, what would be on it? What would you title it?
itsoknottolikeitI’d make it as eclectic and as smart as possible to show the world that some music can actually make you think and feel. I’d title it “It’s okay not to like it…” With that, I’d find one song (like Sweet Dreams), and find 5 different versions of it to show how much talent there is in the world and how much you change a person’s perception of meaning through song. Click Here to Listen!!

Leave a Reply

